Media release

OKLAHOMA CITY  – State Superintendent of Public Instruction Joy Hofmeister has named 97 Oklahoma high school students to her 2021 Student Advisory Council, the sixth consecutive year the group has been convened to assist Hofmeister and the Oklahoma State Department of Education in matters of policy.

“Students have a lot to say about their education, and it is critical that we listen to them. The direct insight we receive from our students is incredibly valuable, and each year I am encouraged by the thoughtful reflection and fearless vision of these brilliant young leaders,” Hofmeister said.

The 2020 Student Advisory Council last met virtually in June, where students voiced their challenges about learning amid a global pandemic and how racism impacts the classroom experience. Other past discussion topics have included the importance of personal financial literacy, increased awareness of student mental health needs, and how trauma can impede student success. Feedback from the Council has been instrumental in state-level initiatives to provide teachers more professional development in trauma-informed instruction, replace end-of-course high school testing with the ACT or SAT, and pilot Individual Career Academic Planning (ICAP).

Recommended by their district superintendents, the students hail from across Oklahoma and represent rural, urban and suburban schools of all sizes. Forty-four are returning members who have served on the council in previous years.

The first virtual meeting of the Student Advisory Council is scheduled for Jan. 26.

Advisory Board List:  Grace Ahlgrim* – Edmond, Bradon Bean – Stilwell, Raelyn Beene* – Wright City, Braelyn Blasengame – Stuart, Allison Bond – McAlester, Kamryn Brewer – Varnum, Bucker Bundy – Idabel, Katelyn Burris – Broken Bow, Kathryn Buxton – Meeker, Isaac Carroll – Wister, Kadyn Casteel – Stillwater, Clayton Chiariello – Horneschool, Gabriella Chisholm* – Edmond, Kaelin Clay* – Idabel, John Clemmons* – Bethel, Sara Coffey – Elk City, Cooper Coffman – Sayer, Abigail Collier – Epic Charter, Lejend Collins* – Oklahoma City, Riley Connor – El Reno, William Reece Conway – Lone Grove, Elizabeth Crawford – Latta, Delaney Cruzan – Epic Charter, Aiden Dodd – Broken Arrow, Tess Dorrell* – Jones, Ireland Fitzer – Stigler, Landry Forsyth* – Waurika, Morgan Francis* – Wilburton, David Fuentez* – Piedmont, Elizabeth Garrison – Skiatook, Opal Giblet – Cordell, Reagan Gist – Edmond, Jewel Hale – OK Connections Academy, Abigail Harmon – Hobart, Brianna Harris* – Okmulgee, Hannah Holder* – Sulphur, Lily Humphries* – Piedmont, Wyatt Jarvis – Ada, Carter Johnson* – Seminole, Jaden Johnston* – Velma_Alma, Alexandra Kasper* – Leflore, Prairie Kaya – Kingfisher, Phoenix Klein* – Poteau, Sean Kuehn* – Sand Springs, Yeeun Lee – Enid, Payton Little – Ponca City, Austin Lopez – Union, Brittney Luong* – Putnam City, Karen Marquez – Dove Schools OKC, Sydney Martens – Fairview, Mariah Martin* – Ringling, Ryan Maynard* – Purcell, Morgan McClellan* – Rattan, Paike McNiel – Bristow, Kelvin McNutt – Antlers, Jonathan Menzel – Inola, Carlee Mollet – Ripley, Kaycee Moyer – Glenpool, Averee Murray – Owasso, Nathaniel Neill – Sapulpa, Casey Nguyen – Woodward, Caret Norvell – Frederick, Brayden Oglesby* – Howe, Nikki Padilla* – Pryor, Rylie Pass* – Bray Doyle, Khushi Patel* – Dove Schools OKC, Julian Paul* – Tulsa, Jamie Peffer – Merritt, Gracie Pendley* – Oktaha, Ella Phillps – Epic Charter, Trakel “Kel” Pinkston* – Putnma City, Maya Reeves* – Jenks, Daley Reynolds – Claremore, Keldon Roberst – Newcastle, Natalie Rojo* – OK Virtual Charter Academy, Hanaa Saidi – Shawnee, Emily Sanders* – Epic Charter, Bella Schenk – Cashion, Ayzia Shirey* – Tecumseh, Adam Shuck – Catoosa, Samantha Simmons – Bartlesville, Nickolas Simons* – Stilwell, Nathan Slater* – Deer Creek, Kkylie Slawson – Marietta, Luke Spady* – Hinton, Heather Sparks* – Sapulpa, Brooklyn Spencer – Porter, Grace Taylor* – Adair, Elise Thompson* – Dove Science OKC, Sutton Titsworth – Bristow, Joshlyn Tomlin* – Merritt, Bridget Wilhite – Cherokee, Connor Williams* – Clinton, Erin Williams* – Oklahoma City, Ashley Winter – Chisholm, Elijah Winer* – Bartlesville, Delaney York* – Elgin.

*Second Year Member