(Oklahoma City, Okla)  – Governor Mary Fallin today announced the formation of the Governor’s Education Advisory Committee.

Committee members include representatives of K-12 schools, Career Technology centers, and colleges and universities. The committee will advise the governor on education policy and aid in the development and implementation of the governor’s “Oklahoma Works” initiative. The new initiative, announced in Fallin’s State of the State Address, seeks to develop local partnerships between the public and private sector to ensure students have access to the education and training they need to find good paying jobs after graduation. More information about the initiative can be found at OklahomaWorks.gov.

“Nothing is more important to Oklahoma’s future than boosting educational attainment and ensuring our students get the education they need to succeed in the workforce,” said Fallin. “Supporting that effort will take input from a wide variety of educators. We want to make sure that K-12 schools, CareerTech and Higher Education all have a seat at the table as we work to improve educational outcomes.”

Members on the Governor’s Education Advisory Committee

Common EducationStacey Butterfield, Jenks superintendentAnne Caine, Stillwater superintendentTom Deighan, Lawton superintendentDerald Glover, Fort Gibson superintendentTerry Grissom, Asher superintendentCliff Johnson, Latta superintendentSean McDaniel, Mustang superintendentRob Neu, Oklahoma City superintendentClark Ogilvie, Owasso superintendentJeff Pritchard, Seminole superintendent Don Raleigh, Pryor superintendentRoydon Tilley, Chisholm superintendent

Career Tech Jane Bowen, Moore-Norman superintendentLindel Fields, Tri County Tech Center superintendentTom Friedemann, Francis Tuttle superintendentMax Thomas, Chisholm Trail Technology Center superintendent Tom Thomas, Great Plains Technology Center superintendent Phil Waul, Central Tech superintendent

Higher Education Don Betz, University of Central Oklahoma presidentSean Burrage, Southeastern Oklahoma State University presidentCheryl Evans, Northern Oklahoma College presidentBo Hannaford, Northwestern dean of College of Professional StudiesDeborah Landry, Northeastern Oklahoma State University dean of educationJoy McDaniel, Murray State College president Bill Path, OSU Institute of Technology president