The Cushing Regional Hospital Foundation in association with the Cushing Masonic Lodge hosted a charity golf event on May 17 at the Cushing Country Club. All proceeds from the event are ear-marked to provide paramedic scholarships for the EMTs at the Cushing Fire Department. Over $21,084 in profit was earned, with an additional $3586 in donated gifts and prizes for the welcome bags, drawings, and prize holes.

Currently, Cushing firemen are certified at an Intermediate EMT level. It will take approximately two years to certify all of them to a paramedic level, and it will cost between $5000 & $6000 per person. In order to have EMTs on call on a 24/7 basis, nine will need to be trained.

The Foundation embarked on this venture knowing that it would be a long-term plan. Immediately, the Masonic Lodge pledged up to $2500 to this project, as long as they could work at the event. Bob Felts served as the Masonic Lodge representative and as director of the tournament.

Prizes were offered for 1st, 2nd, & 3rd places in A Flight and B Flight. A Flight first place winners were Shannon Stevens, Randy LaWallen, Jake Brock and Brad Reinecke. They were sponsored by Bluebird Geophysical Consulting, LLC. Second place winners were Jim Wasson, Tammy Wasson, Russell Moyer and Bobby Tanner. They were sponsored by JLT, Inc. Third place winners were sponsored by DCA. They were Mike Griffith, Derek Griffith, Brandon Griffith and Robert Griffith.

B Flight winners were Phil Waul, Kent Burris, Ron Dyer, and Ron Tackett. They were sponsored by Phil Waul in association with Central Technology in Drumright. Second place winners were sponsored by Fechner Pump. They were Kevin Jackson, Tim Troutman, Pat O’Kelley and Corkie Gaston. Third place winners were Glen Hoecker, Sharon Hoecker, and Paul Taylor & Suzy Taylor. They were sponsored by Glen Hoecker of Ponca City.

Closest to the Pin winners were Kyndall Rogers, Jeff Young, Merle Palmer, Ron Lamb, and Brad Reinecke. The ladies longest drive was won by Farrah Hernandez and Brad Reinecke won the men’s longest drive.

Many thanks to all those who participated in this event.